• MU Closed, Wed., February 20, due to inclement weatherupdated 02/19 at 05:06 PM EST
Home Support MU Scholarships Malek School of Health Professions Scholarships

Malek School of Health Professions Scholarships

These scholarships are awarded each year through gifts from generous alumni, faculty and staff, friends, and foundations. Additional gifts to these funds allow Marymount to provide more financial assistance to our students. For more information, please contact the Office of Development at 866-239-4279 or email us.

If you are a student looking for financial assistance, please Financial Aid.

Give a Gift Online

Alexander Christian Croft Scholarship

In June 2008, Peggy Croft established this scholarship in memory of her son, Alexander Croft. This scholarship is awarded to an undergraduate student in the Physical Therapy Scholars Program who maintains a minimum of a 3.3 GPA and demonstrates financial need.

Ann Leary Finnegan Scholarship

This scholarship was founded in honor of Ann Finnegan, an alumna of Marymount’s Nursing program who passed away after her graduation in 1984. According to her friends and family who have contributed significantly to the scholarship fund, Ann was a vivacious young woman full of desire to help others. This scholarship is awarded annually to an undergraduate Nursing student demonstrating promise and financial need.

BB&T/Inova/Marymount Scholarship Initiative

The Inova/BB&T Nursing Scholarships are funded each year through a generous gift from Inova Health System and BB&T to encourage students to enter the dynamic world of nursing. The $5,000 scholarships are awarded each year to full-time, second degree nursing students who have at least a 3.0 GPA and successfully complete the application process, which includes an essay and job interview with Inova Recruitment for a two year position in an Inova facility.

Dorothy Efner & Shirley Efner McManus ’79 Scholarship

John and Shirley Efner McManus ’79 established this scholarship in honor of the wonderful nursing care Shirley’s mother, Dorothy, received. It is awarded annually to nursing students with financial need and a demonstrated commitment to the nursing discipline and the University, and who have earned favorable comment from the faculty in general.

Elizabeth & Howard Noonan Scholarship

Established in 2011 by a Marymount alumna, the Elizabeth & Howard Noonan Scholarship is awarded annually to a second degree nursing student who exhibits both academic and financial need.

Finnerty-Sullivan Health Professions Scholarship

This scholarship fund was established by Michael and Marcia Finnerty in 2004 to continue the Finnerty-Sullivan family tradition of strongly stressing college education, inspiring everyone to seek a college education, and to provide financial support for the neediest students. This scholarship is awarded annually to an undergraduate student in the Malek School of Health Professions. Special consideration is given to any student who is or has already worked in the health care field and desires to advance their career.

Lettie Pate Whitehead Foundation Scholarship

Awarded each year through a grant from the Lettie Pate Whitehead Foundation, these scholarships support Christian women seeking nursing degrees. After the death of her husband, Mrs. Whitehead became one of the first women to serve on the board of directors of a major American corporation; she served as a director of The Coca-Cola Company for almost 20 years. Throughout her life, Mrs. Whitehead was involved in cultural and civic organizations.

Lucille & Bruce Lambert Foundation Scholarship

These scholarships are provided through an endowed fund from the Lucille and Bruce Lambert Foundation. The Lamberts were impressed by Marymount nursing students who practiced at a nursing home they owned. Through their foundation, scholarships will support nursing students who are interested in geriatric nursing practice. Each year, the scholarships are awarded to senior nursing students who demonstrate caring and an interest in geriatric nursing.

The O’Shaughnessy-Hurst Foundation Scholarship

Established in 2010 through a generous grant from the O’Shaugnessy Hurst Foundation, this scholarship is awarded annually to students enrolled in Marymount’s Malek School of Health Professions who are seeking a degree in the accelerated Bachelor of Science in Nursing Program.

Richard & Jeannette Parkinson Memorial Scholarship

Michael Parkinson, MS ’98, MBA ’01, created this scholarship to honor his parents, Richard and Jeannette Parkinson, and to express his love for Marymount University. The recipient is selected by the Office of Financial Aid and awarded to an incoming freshman who is entering the bachelor’s degree in nursing program. This student must also have graduated from a high school in the St. Louis, Missouri, or Long Island, New York, geographic areas and demonstrate financial need. The recipient must maintain a 3.0 GPA to retain the scholarship each academic year.

Rita A. Wong Restricted Scholarship

The Rita A. Wong scholarship commemorates the election of Dr. Rita A. Wong, PT, EdD, FAPTA as Fellow in the American Physical Therapy Association. Dr. Wong has been recognized for her lifetime of service, scholarship and leadership in physical therapy. In honor of this occasion, the faculty, staff, students and friends of the program have established the scholarship in Dr. Wong’s honor. The scholarship will be awarded to students enrolled in the Doctor of Physical Therapy program to help them as they aspire towards their own excellence.

Rose Ann Benté Lee Nursing Scholarship

Mrs. Rose Ann Benté Lee was a long-time member of the Marymount University Board of Trustees. She established this scholarship fund in 1984 to assist deserving and qualified full-time nursing students with financial need. Mrs. Lee greatly enjoyed meeting her Rose Benté Lee Nursing scholars each year until her death in 2014.

William Randolph Hearst Scholarships for Students in Nursing

Provided through an endowed fund from the William Randolph Hearst Foundation, these scholarships are awarded to full-time undergraduate nursing students who have financial need. The Foundation was founded in 1945 by philanthropist William Randolph Hearst.

Virginia Morris Kincaid Scholarship

Provided through a grant from the Virginia Morris Kincaid Foundation, these scholarships are awarded to first-year, graduate students in physical therapy. They are selected via a competitive application process, and each scholar is expected to complete a publishable systematic review to meet the program research requirement and serve as a conduit of evidence-based practice to the community by making a formal presentation of research findings to the clinical community.