Home Admissions Transfer Students Transferring Credits

Transferring Credits

Marymount University generally accepts credits for courses completed with a grade of C or higher at other regionally accredited institutions of higher education.

Marymount will accept a maximum of 64 credit hours from freshman- and sophomore-level courses and an additional 20 credit hours from junior- or senior-level courses.

Marymount University has a 36 credit residency requirement, meaning no student may apply more than 84 hours of transfer credit toward a degree. For more details on our current transfer policies, see our undergraduate catalog.

Course Equivalences

For some colleges, course Equivalences are readily available for students who wish to transfer to Marymount. Students transferring from other two or four-year colleges or universities should contact our admissions team to gain more information. 

You may review course Equivalences for the following schools:
  • Florida Community Colleges 
  • George Mason University
  • Howard Community College
  • Montgomery College
  • NOVA and Other Virginia Community College Students
  • Prince George's Community College
  • Virginia Commonwealth University 

Credit by Examination

Transfer students may apply up to 30 hours of credit earned by examination to the 84-hour transfer credit maximum. Marymount will accept credit earned through College-Level Examination Program (CLEP), International Baccalaureate (IB), and Advanced Placement (AP), and DANTES Program examinations. You can learn more about receiving credit by examination from the Office of the Registrar.