Visiting Author Series

The Visiting Author Series was established in 2011 in partnership with the Arlington County Public Library’s Arlington Reads initiative. The series is part of the first-year composition program housed in the Department of Literature and Languages. The featured author and his/her works are incorporated into the program curriculum each spring. 

Valeria Luiselli (2020)

Los Angeles Times Book Prize and American Book Award winner, author of Tell Me How It Ends: An Essay in Forty Questions

Mary Karr (2019)

New York Times bestseller and PEN/Martha Albrand Award-winning memoir, 
The Liar's Club 

Katherine Boo (2018)

National Book Award for Nonfiction and Los Angeles Times Book Prize, Behind the Beautiful Forevers: Life, Death, and Hope in a Mumbai Undercity

Elizabeth Strout (2017)

Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, Olive Kitteridge 

Julie Otsuka (2016)

American Library Association's Alex Award and the Asian American Literary Award, Whe
n the Emperor Was Divine 

Jesmyn Ward (2015)

Two-time National Book Award winner, author of Men We Reaped

Richard Ford (2014)

Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Sportswriter

Junot Diaz (2013)

Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao

Jennifer Egan (2012)

Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, A Visit from the Goon Squad

Tim O’Brien (2011)

National Book Award Winner for his collection of stories, The Things They Carried