Home About Marymount Capital Location Distinguished Speakers Marya McLaughlin Lectureship in Media Communications

Marya McLaughlin Lectureship in Media Communications

The Marya McLaughlin Endowed Lectureship in Media Communications honors this well-known CBS News radio and television correspondent, and each year provides Marymount students and faculty with valuable insights and inspiration from journalists of national stature.


Carol Leonnig (2017)

An investigative and enterprise journalist at the Washington Post
Pulitzer Prize-winner, Polk Award for Political Reporting recipient, Selden Ring Award for Investigative Reporting recipient

Justin Kenny (2016)

Small Footprints Film, Owner
Foreign and defense editor and contributor, PBS Newshour
Emmy Award Winner, Peabody award winner, Marymount graduate

Myron Belkind (2015)

Associated Press foreign correspondent and bureau chief

Steven V. Roberts (2012)

Nationally known journalist, political analyst, and author

Mark Shields (2011)

Syndicated columnist and political analyst, PBS NewsHour

Kathleen McCleery (2009)

Deputy Executive Producer, The NewsHour with Jim Lehrer

Gordon Peterson (2008)

Anchor of WJLA-TV 7’s News at 6 p.m.
Moderator and producer of Inside Washington

Andrea Roane (2007)

Emmy award-winning journalist
Co-anchor, W*USA 9 News Now

Bob Steele (2005)

Media ethicist and the Nelson Poynter Scholar for Journalism Values at The Poynter Institute in St. Petersburg, Florida

Bob Edwards (2004)

Host, The Bob Edwards Show, XM Public Radio
Former Host, Morning Edition, National Public Radio

Helen Thomas (2003)

Washington columnist, Hearst News Service

Bob Levey (2002)

Columnist, The Washington Post

Bob Schieffer (2001)

Chief Washington Correspondent, CBS News
Anchor/Moderator, Face the Nation

Roger Mudd (2000)

Award-winning broadcast journalist