Home >  News and Events >  News Details  

News and Events

Volleyball Announces 2011 Schedule

Wednesday, July 27, 2011
Arlington, Va. – Marymount University’s volleyball team released its 2011 schedule, as announced by head coach Beth Ann Wilson on Wednesday. The Saints have put together a well balanced schedule with the aim on returning to the Capital Athletic Conference tournament.

“After playing a lighter schedule in 2009 and transitioning to a much tougher one last season, I think this year will provide balanced competition for our team,” Wilson said. “We should have a mix of matches of various difficulties that will give us the confidence of knowing we will be able to compete without creating complacency or the expectation to win without putting in the effort.”

Marymount opens the season on the road at Randolph-Macon on September 1, the first of three NCAA tournament teams from a year ago they will face. The Yellow Jackets finished the year ranked 25th in the final AVCA Top-25 poll.

Kicking off the home slate that weekend, MU hosts Messiah and Lynchburg for a tri-match at the Verizon Sports Arena on September 3. The Saints then travel to face CAC rival Mary Washington in the league opener that Wednesday before heading up to take part in the Swarthmore Tournament on September 9-10 against 2010 NCAA tournament team Cabrini, host Swarthmore, Rutgers-Camden and Wesley in non-conference play.

Marymount’s home CAC opener is slated for September 14 against Stevenson. The Saints dropped a pair of matches to the Mustangs last season, but look at SU as one of the teams barely blocking their return to the conference tournament.

Other key dates include a visit to defending CAC champions and NCAA tournament team Frostburg State on September 28, the Saints’ Dig Pink night on October 19 at home against Wesley and senior night a day later against Shenandoah.

The Saints close out the regular season with a five-match road swing before opening the CAC tournament on November 1.

Marymount lost just one senior from a year ago and returns seven letterwinners from last season.