Home >  Academics >  Programs of Study >  English >  Faculty  

Academics

Faculty

 
Photo Of Lillian M. Bisson
Professor Emerita of English
lillian.bisson@marymount.edu
B.A., Elms College
M.A., University of Massachusetts
Ph.D., Florida State University
Other study: Folger Institute seminars on Dante and Machiavelli
 
 

Photo Of Nyla Gilkerson Carney
Associate Dean, School of Arts and Sciences; Professor of English
Gailhac
(703) 284-1638
nyla.carney@marymount.edu

Photo Of George D. Cheatham
Dean, School of Arts and Sciences; Professor of English
Gailhac 2003
(703) 284-1560
george.cheatham@marymount.edu
B.A., Hendrix College
M.A., Ph.D., University of Tennessee
 

Photo Of Susan Fay
Professor Emerita of English
susan.fay@marymount.edu
B.A., Fordham University
M.A., University of Michigan
Ph. D., The George Washington University
 

Photo Of Sarah H. Ficke
Assistant Professor of Literature and Languages
Gailhac 2004
(703) 284-1577
sficke@marymount.edu
B.A., Oberlin College
M.A., Ph.D., University of North Carolina

Photo Of Bess Fox
Coordinator of Freshman Writing Program; Associate Professor of English
Gailhac
(703) 284-1568
bess.fox@marymount.edu
B.A., Louisiana State University
M.A., University of Missouri
Ph.D. and additional study, University of Kentucky
Photo Of Lucille Guss
Chair, Liberal Studies Program; Assistant Professor of Literature and Language
Ireton 1014
(703) 284-1640
lucille.guss@marymount.edu
B.A., M.A., Ph.D., Temple University
Other study: Shakespeare Institute, Stratford-upon-Avon, England

Assistant Dean, School of Arts and Sciences; Associate Professor of Literature and Language
Gailhac 2003E
(703) 284-1560
susan.heumann@marymount.edu
B.S., M.A.T., Ph.D., Georgetown University
Other study: University of Dijon

Photo Of Tonya Howe
Director, Graduate Program in Literature, Language, and the Humanities; Associate Professor of English
Gailhac
(703) 284-5762
tonya-marie.howe@marymount.edu
B.A. James Madison University
M.A., Ph.D. University of Michigan
Photo Of Leigh C. Johnson
Assistant Professor of Literature and Languages
Gailhac 2005
(703) 284-3858
leigh.johnson@marymount.edu
B.A., Lewis and Clark College
M.A., Western Kentucky University
Ph.D., University of New Mexico
Other study/credentials: Women's Studies Certificate, Western Kentucky University

Photo Of Hollynd Karapetkova
Associate Professor of English
Gailhac
(703) 284-1594
hollynd.karapetkova@marymount.edu
B.A., Rice University
M.F.A., Georgia State University
Ph.D., University of Cincinnati
Photo Of Alice S. Mandanis
Provost Emerita and Professor Emerita of English
alice.mandanis@marymount.edu
B.A., University of Richmond
M.A., Ph.D. The Catholic University of America
Other graduate study: University of North Carolina
 
 

Photo Of Robert M. Otten
Professor of English
Rowley
(703) 526-6927
robert.otten@marymount.edu
B.A., St. John’s University
Ph.D., The University of Notre Dame
 

Photo Of Katie Lyn Peebles
Assistant Professor of English
Gailhac 2011
(703) 284-1563
katie.peebles@marymount.edu
B.A., Smith College
M.A./M.A., English/Folklore and Ethnomusicology, Indiana University
Ph.D., Indiana University
Other study: Université Paris-Sorbonne (Paris IV)

Photo Of Marguerite Rippy
Chair, Department of Literature and Languages; Professor of Literature
Gailhac
(703) 526-6805
marguerite.rippy@marymount.edu
B.A., Brown University
M.A., Vanderbilt University
Ph.D., Indiana University
Photo Of Amy Scott-Douglass
Assistant Professor of English
Gailhac 2005
(703) 284-1576
amysd@marymount.edu
B.A., M.A. English and M.A. Theatre, Bowling Green State University
Ph.D., University of Oklahoma
 

Photo Of Karen Volland Waters
Professor Emerita of English
karen.waters@marymount.edu
B.A., Ph.D., University of Maryland, College Park
M.A., The George Washington University